## Official Minutes CCSF ACADEMIC SENATE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Ocean Campus, Science Building Room 204 Wednesday, October 10, 2007

Council Members Present: Loren Bell, Beth Cataldo, Michael Estrada, Mark Fan, Christine Francisco, Lynda Hirose, Hal Huntsman, Suzanne Lo, Billington Mbolo, Elliot Osborne, Marie Osborne, Rodolfo Padilla, Muriel Parenteau, Luz Maria Pena, Francine Podenski, Denise Quinn, Carmen Roman-Murray, Lisa Romano, Karen Saginor, Leticia Silva, Jane Sneed, Pierre Thiry, Edgar Torres, Melinda Weil, David Yee

Other Senate Members Present: Joao Barretto, Julia Bergman, Monica Bosson, Fred Chavaria, Anthony Costa, Mauro Garcia, James Gibson, Kimberly Ginther-Webster, Bonnie Gratch-Lindauer, Darrel Hess, Delicia Kamins, Lancelot Kao, Carmen Lamha, Madeline Mueller, Todd Rigg-Carriero, Fred Teti, Carole Toebe, Patrick Toebe, Ellen Wall, Austin White

## I. Call to Order

y, and 3 students.

The Academic Senate Executive Council came to order at 2:-7.2 2 oot. At the September 27 tion of the city (SF) planning code regarding
October 18, 2007. At the Board of Trustees
for the coming year which included the CEO
the deadline for the RFPs for hiring a search
the Board agreed on an eighteen member
would be 3 administrators, 3 Board of

st Vice President Yee reported on the Strengthening Student Success Conference. Some discussion focused on SLOs. He attended the latest Technology Planning Meeting called by Vice-Chancellor Gabriner. Yee has encouraged the ITPC group to provide easier methods for instructors to access the internet in the classroom and also requested that a process be instituted by which students can be informed quickly when difficulties occur with computer access to the College.

## V. Unfinished Business

A. Article X of the CCSF Academic Senate Constitution Resolution: "Establish an explicit process for how the Executive Council selects the members of the Committee on Committees"

Karen Saginor proposed an amendment to Edgar Torres's motion above, which was seconded by Jane Sneed. Rodolfo Padilla asked that the record reflect that in the past two years he has never been asked to vote for the fifth member of the Committee on Committees. Pierre Thiry called the question on the amendment, which was seconded by Padilla. Parliamentarian Susan Lopez explained that a 2/3 yes vote is necessary to stop the debate. A role call vote was called for which failed, with ten yes and eleven no votes, and 2 abstentions. The votes were as follows:

Yes: Christine Francisco, Lynda Hirose, Hal Huntsman, Suzanne Lo, Elliot Osborne, Rodolfo Padilla, Muriel Parenteau, Luz Maria Pena, Carmen Roman-Murray, Pierre Thiry, Edgar Torres

No: Loren Bell, Beth Cataldo, Mark Fan, Marie Osborne, Francine Podenski, Denise Quinn, Karen Saginor,

Jane Sneed, Melinda Weil, David Yee

Abstention: Michael Estrada, Billington Mbolo

Absent: Leticia Silva

Discussion of the amendment continued. Lopez explained that Robert's Rules of Order requires that amendments to a motion are discussed and voted on before returning to the motion and that points of order or information take precedence over the discussion. Discussion ensued on pro and con opinions on the amendment.

Hirose called the question and wondered if a ballot vote could be taken. Sneed made a point of clarification,